Carroll Chargers Win Roy Chin Cup Two Years in a Row

Week 11 – The Leo Lions put their sophomore goalie, Eian Demorest, to face the Carroll Chargers. Luke VanAntwerp saw action in Carroll’s net. Carroll beat the Lions 5-2. 

First Period

The Chargers got the scoring going at 13:48 as Mikey Baldwin got his first goal of the season. He sent the puck from the blue line and slid it in near post. Leo would take the first two penalties of the game, Jonah Haines at 12:20 for tripping and Austin Amick at 11:18 for crosschecking. Dylan Braun got a 5-on-3 goal for the Chargers at 10:58. Braun struck again with another power-play goal 22 seconds later. At 10:36, Drew Baumert replaced Eian Demorest in goal. Colin Robison would put the Lions at a disadvantage when he got a 10 and 2 for boarding. Carroll would take the following two sentences as Finn Cupp got called for interference and Luke VanAntwerp got a holding call. Shots at the end of the first favored Carroll, 13 to 9.  

Second Period

Will LaLonde got a penalty for slashing at 12:27. Jonah Haines would go to the box for the second time at 5:03 for holding. Carroll would get penalized for too many men at 2:16. With 16 seconds left to go in the second, Leo would get on the board first as Alex Hendricks was able to slide in the rebound from Tyson Finefrock and Sammy Schwartz. Leo totaled 16 shots to Carroll’s 21. 

Third Period

Carter Gnau started the third period with a goal at 11:21, with Braun assisting. Carroll’s Colsen White scored at 10:12 with assists from Davis Cline and Viktor Wolff. 11 seconds later, Finn Cupp was penalized again for roughing. Tyson Finefrock would put up the second and final goal for the Leo Lions on the power play at 8:40. Colin Robison got the assist. Benny Meyer would take a penalty at 7 minutes for roughing. The final two calls were with 1:25 remaining in the third, Carter Gnau and Tyson Finefrock going off for roughing. Carroll won their second consecutive Roy Chin Cup as regular season champions and shot 34 shots to Leo’s 22. 

1380’s Three Stars of the Game

  1. Dylan Braun (2 goals, 1 assist)
  2. Carter Gnau (1 goal, 2 assists)
  3. Mikey Baldwin (1st FW league goal)


This article was written by Fiona Quinn.

Recent Posts

Public Inspection File

Click Here to access the online Public Inspection File

Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station’s FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC’s online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or

Public File Liaison: