Komets announce protected player list

‘’Shawn Szydlowski (Josh Gales/Fort Wayne Komets)‘’

The Fort Wayne Komets took the initial steps toward the 2020-21 ECHL season by announcing their list of protected players Monday.

The practice allows teams to retain the rights to certain players, as long as they meet the guidelines defined in a collective bargaining agreement between the league and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association.

The Ks protected their rights to the following players:

  • Forwards Brady Shaw, Anthony Petruzzelli, Brett McKenzie, Shawn Szydlowski, Matt Boudens, A.J. Jenks, Shawn St-Amant, Alan Lyszczarczyk, Kyle Hope, Brad Ross.
  • Defensemen Chase Stewart, Jason Binkley, Ryan Lowney, Adam Henry, Kyle Haas, Gabriel Verpaelst, Olivier Galipeau.
  • Goaltender Stefanos Lekkas.

The ECHL has also announced that teams have to complete any “future consideration” trades by 3 pm on June 12th, with their Season-Ending Rosters finished by 3 pm on June 15th.

The 2019-20 season was canceled due to the worldwide coronavirus pandemic. The Komets’ 2020-21 season begins on Saturday, October 17th at home against the Indy Fuel, with a 7:35 pm scheduled start time.

Recent Posts

Public Inspection File

Click Here to access the online Public Inspection File

Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station’s FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC’s online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or fccinfo@fcc.gov.

Public File Liaison: